How we came to be

Our generous, visionary founders foresaw the need to study, understand, and teach about philanthropy.

Now the Indiana University Lilly Family School of Philanthropy plays a leading role in moving this integral component of life and society forward—across the country and around the world.

Lilly Family School of Philanthropy timeline

Five people stand holding awards in hands


1986: Planning grant establishes a planning committee and proposal for the Center on Philanthropy
1987: Center established; Inaugural Colloquium held at the University Place Conference Center
1987: The Fund Raising School transferred to Indiana University
1988: First philanthropy courses held on the IU Indianapolis and IU campuses
1988: Robert Payton appointed as full-time Executive Director
1989: National Board of Visitors established
1990: Indiana University Press Book Philanthropic Studies series established

Jane Addams Fellows


1992: Center served as the first U.S. host for the International Conference of Research on Voluntary and Nonprofit Organizations (formed to become ISTR)
1993: M.A. in Philanthropic Studies approved
1993: Warren Ilchman appointed as Executive Director
1994: ARNOVA moved headquarters to the Center on Philanthropy
1996: The Fund Raising School courses offered in Mexico with the partnership of Procura
1997: Eugene Tempel appointed as Executive Director
1999: Signature Research Project organized (now known as PPS (Philanthropy Panel Study))

Indiana University Lilly Family School of Philanthropy: Gene Tempel


2001: Efroymson Chair in Philanthropic Studies created. Kirsten Grønbjerg appointed as first chairholder
2002: Lake Family Institute on Faith and Giving and Lake Chair established
2003: Ph.D. in Philanthropic Studies approved by the IU Trustees
2003: Acquired Women’s Philanthropic Institute
2005: Millennium Project initiated to focus on philanthropic leadership in communities of color, among women, and youth
2005: First contract with Bank of America to conduct giving study of high net worth individuals

View of women seated on stage for event at Women Leading 2011


2008: Patrick Rooney appointed as Executive Director
2008: First Ph.D. graduated with Doctorate in Philanthropic Studies
2009: The Fund Raising School and SPEA developed joint series of executive education courses focusing on nonprofit management
2010: First Bachelor’s of Philanthropic Studies established
2010: Women Give report on gender differences in philanthropic behavior released by the Women’s Philanthropy Institute
2011: 13 RISE scholarships pledged for undergraduate students

In 2012 the School of Philanthropy (first in the nation) was approved by the IU Trustees and the Indiana Commission for Higher Education

Graduates sit during


2012: Gene Tempel appointed as Founding Dean of the new School of Philanthropy
2013: Lilly Family School of Philanthropy inauguration and naming event
2014: David King selected to lead Lake Institute on Faith & Giving
2014: The Fund Raising School celebrated its 40th anniversary and the Women’s Philanthropy Institute celebrated its 10th anniversary at the school
2015: Amir Pasic named Eugene R. Tempel Dean
2015: Lilly Family School of Philanthropy moved to University Hall on the IU Indianapolis campus
2015: Establishment of the Mays Family Institute on Diverse Philanthropy in honor of William and Rose Mays
2016: Diana Aviv, CEO of Feeding America, joins the school as our Distinguished Visiting Practitioner and Visiting Fellow
2016: Named John A. List as Visiting Robert F. Hartsook Chair in Fundraising